La SCFA est la plateforme qui représente les astronomes professionnels suisses. Elle est essentiellement constituée des directeurs des différents instituts astronomiques suisses.

Image : ESO


The SCFA is the Board representing the Swiss professional astronomers. It is composed essentially of the directors of the various Swiss astronomical institutes and of the presidents of the Swiss Society for Astrophysics and Astronomy (SSAA) and of the Swiss Committee on Space Research (CSR), as well as the IAU contact person.


Commission suisse d'astronomie (SCFA)
c/o Prof. Dr. Philippe Jetzer
Universität Zürich
Department of Physics
Winterthurerstrasse 190
8057 Zurich

The Swiss representative on the ESO Users Committee for a first term of three years (2023-2025) is Prof. Xavier Dumusque.

The Swiss representatives in the Committee on Radio Astronomy Frequencies (CRAF) are currently Dr. Axel Murk and Prof. Susanne Wampfler (Uni Bern).

The SCFA maintains a list of all professors in astronomy in Swiss academic institutions, which constitutes the College of Helvetic Astronomy Professors (CHAPS).